OSKALOOSA COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS May 18, 2018

MAY 18, 2018

The Board of Directors of the Oskaloosa Community School District met in special session at 12:15PM on Friday, May 18, 2018, in the Administration Board Room, 1800 North 3rd Street, Oskaloosa, Iowa.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Present were Board members Shelly Herr, Sharma Parlett, Erik Edgren (via phone), Amanda McGraw, Lynette Stream, and Kraig Van Hulzen (via phone). Member Carl Drost was absent.

OTHERS PRESENT

Also present were Superintendent Mr. Russell Reiter, Richard Waddington, Beverly Jenkinson, and Chad Vink.

AGENDA

President Herr called the meeting to order. Parlett moved to approve the Agenda. Stream seconded and all voted in favor.

PERSONNEL

Mr. Reiter presented the Board with three resignations and four appointments.

Parlett moved to accept the resignations of Timothy Scott, Janna Lundein, and Brittany Morris effective at the end of the 2017-2018 school year. McGraw seconded and all voted in favor.

Edgren moved to accept the Superintendent's recommendation of the appointment of William Gormally as High School Social Studies Teacher starting with the 2018-2019 school year at the BA Step 1 salary level or \$36,535.00. Parlett seconded and all voted in favor.

After discussion on both courses taught and additional pay for hard-to-fill positions, McGraw moved to accept the Superintendent's recommendation of the appointment of Elizabeth Haut as High School Math Teacher starting with the 2018-2019 school year at the MA Step 2 salary level or \$41,590.00. Edgren seconded and all voted in favor.

Discussion then followed about the candidates being proposed for the open fifth grade positions and their qualifications when compared to other candidates. Van Hulzen moved to approve the appointments of Mikayla Hintz and Hayley Konek as Elementary School Classroom Teachers. That motion died due to lack of support.

It was agreed by consensus to meet again soon to address the appointments.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
President Herr adjourned the meeting at 12:36PM.
Trooldon rion dajourned the mooting at 12.001 mi
Chad M. Vink, Board Secretary